Jim McAleavey Hall of Fame Induction

University of Massachusetts Department of Athletics announced the five new members that will be inducted into the George “Trigger” Burke UMass Athletics Hall of Fame as the Class of 2016. The official ceremony will be held as part of 2016 Homecoming Weekend on Fri., Sept. 30, at 6 p.m., in the Student Union Ballroom.

The Class of 2016 includes Jim McAleavey (men’s lacrosse, 1988-91), Ken O’Brien ’63 (head men’s cross country and track and field coach, 1968-present), Patty Shea (field hockey, 1980-83; women’s lacrosse, 1981, 1984), Kelly Liljeblad (women’s cross country and track and field, 1990-95) and Wendy Wilbur (rowing, 1994-97).

Jim McAleavey (men’s lacrosse, 1988-91)
Jim McAleavey currently ranks second all-time at the University of Massachusetts for points scored on the strength of 95 goals and a program-record 171 assists. A standout from his freshman year onward, McAleavey produced at least 49 points in each of his four campaigns while he provided the second-best single-season points total in UMass history with 91 via 34 goals and 57 assists in 1990. Lauded for his on-field accomplishments, McAleavey took home three USILA All-America honors and four NEILA All-Region awards at attack while he also represented Massachusetts in the 1991 USILA North/South All-Star Game. He led the squad in points and assists in each of his four season (1988-91) and his 171 career helpers are 30 more than the next Minuteman.

You can register for the September 30th induction here.

Share This: